After securing the pole position at the 2018 Catalunya GP, Jorge Lorenzo looked super confident about the race. His teammate, Andrea Dovizioso was at the third place at the starting grid. And the reigning world champion, Marc Marquez was sandwiched between the two Ducatis and started from the second place.

Marquez had a blasting launch, and he took the lead at the first corner. Following him was Lorenzo. It looked like that Marquez would increase the gap. But Lorenzo was very dedicated and determined in this race. It didn’t take long for him to overtake Marquez at the home straight at the end of lap 1. From that point onwards, Lorenzo didn’t look back. He continued to score fantastic lap times and the gap between him and Marquez kept on increasing.

While Lorenzo was up ahead continuing to ride at his winning pace, Marquez tried his best to catch him, but he couldn’t. Dovi, who was in the third place, was pushing too, to hunt down Marquez. Unfortunately, he lost his front and crash out of the race, giving his third place to The Doctor, who started from seventh on the grid. After this, the leading group remained the same – Lorenzo, Marquez, Rossi – till the end of the race.


Dani Pedrosa, who will be leaving Honda at the end of this season, put up a great race. He rode brilliantly and defended his 5th place from Vinales and Zarco. Vinales struggled for grip on his Yamaha and couldn’t get better than the 6th place. Andrea Iannone was among the top 5 at the starting of the race and even did some great passes, but unfortunately, his Suzuki kept falling like a rock after a few laps. He finished 10th. Out of the 26 riders, only 14 could finish the race. It was a chaos at the race track, as 12 riders either crashed or retired due to some reason.

The next race is scheduled to take place at Assen on 1 July 2018. It was here where Yamaha scored its last race win in the 2017 MotoGP season. We expect to see an action-packed race.

2018 Catalunya GP race results:

Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) – 40m 13.566s
Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) – 40m 18.045s
Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) – 40m 19.664s
Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) – 40m 23.371s
Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) – 40m 24.206s
Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) – 40m 24.364s
Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) – 40m 26.998s
Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) – 40m 28.621s
Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) – 40m 35.623s
Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) – 40m 37.707s
Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) – 40m 50.126s
Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) – 40m 51.795s
Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) – 41m 35.092s
Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* +3 laps
Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* DNF
Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) DNF
Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) DNF
Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) DNF
Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* DNF
Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF
Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) DNF
Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* DNF
Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) DNF
Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* DNF
Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF
Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) DNF