After a gap of four weeks, there was super excitement among MotoGP fans worldwide. The atmosphere at the venue, Brno, was electrifying with fans cheering for their lovable riders. Even the rains couldn’t affect the crowd. Anything can happen in MotoGP and it is extremely hard to predict the verdict of a race until the end, but the one in Brno went quite differently after Marc Marquez decided to take an early pit stop just at the end of the second lap.

This is his second win in a row and third in the entire season

All the 23 riders opted for wet tyres at the beginning of the race since it was a wet track. But it was also a fact that the track will dry up pretty soon if it didn’t rain anymore and riders will have to switch to the slick rubbers. Since Marquez opted for a soft wet rear tyre, he quickly dropped at the bottom of the top 10. This is when the Spaniard took everyone by surprise and pitted to switch his bike.

Marquez’s brilliant strategy helped him win at Brno

This strategic move proved to be a game changer for Marquez. He did lose on positions before but the slick tyres and the drying track allowed him to move up the ladder quickly. Since the leading group, Lorenzo-Rossi-Dovizioso-Zarco didn’t pit they were losing precious time against Marc. It was Lorenzo to go into the pit at the end of lap 4 followed by Rossi and Dovizioso at the end of lap 5.

valentino-rossi-uae-dubaiAll this drama was behind Marquez as he had an impressive 20 second lead over his nearest rival. He finished with 12.4 seconds clear and gaining a 14 point lead over Maverick. This was his second win in a row in the 2017 MotoGP season and also his 32nd MotoGP victory of his entire career. A proud moment, indeed. Also, making Honda Repsol proud was Dani Pedrosa as he too went into the pit along with Lorenzo and came out ahead of him because of some delay in Ducati’s box. Dani finished second followed by Maverick on his Yamaha, giving his best.

Race results-

  1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 44m 15.974s
  2. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 44m 28.412s
  3. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 44m 34.109s
  4. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 44m 36.440s
  5. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 44m 36.866s
  6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 44m 39.233s
  7. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (Desmosedici GP17) 44m 40.053s
  8. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 44m 46.533s
  9. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 44m 46.728s
  10. Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 44m 49.210s
  11. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 44m 49.264s
  12. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 44m 50.569s
  13. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (Desmosedici GP15) 44m 50.671s
  14. Jack Miller AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 44m 54.036s
  15. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 44m 56.074s
  16. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (Desmosedici GP16) 45m 0.350s
  17. Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 45m 1.428s
  18. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 45m 9.950s
  19. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 45m 39.320s
  20. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (Desmosedici GP16) +1 lap


Current MotoGP standings-

  1. Marc Marquez – Honda – 154 points
  2. Maverick Vinales – Yamaha – 140 points
  3. Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati – 133 points
  4. Valentino Rossi – Yamaha – 132 points