Andrea Dovizioso has won the 2017 Malaysian GP beautifully. The race started in wet conditions but the Italian rider used all his talent and skills to make sure that the fight for the 2017 MotoGP championship continues till the last and final race at Valencia.

Marc Marquez, who’s leading the championship, had a great start as he gained a few positions on the first lap. Later it was Zarco who was leading the race followed by Jorge Lorenzo and Marc Marquez. Dovizioso was running at the fourth place. Both the Yamaha riders were not involved in the leading group.

Dovi was well aware of the gravity of the situation. He needed to win to have a shot at the championship. We all wanted him to win because it would make the final race at Valencia that much more interesting.

Well done, mate

He was fighting with Marquez for the third position. We know Marquez doesn’t give up easily but unfortunately, the wet conditions weren’t in his favour. Dovizioso managed to get past him in a corner but went wide in the next one and Marquez overtook him once again. But Dovi kept pushing and successfully passed Marquez on the next lap. After this Marquez couldn’t keep up and managed to finish fourth in the race.

Jorge Lorenzo seemed to be in a perfect phase of his relationship with his bike during the Malaysian GP. He was phenomenal all throughout the race. As the race proceeded towards the end, Lorenzo overtook Zarco and lead the race for the first time. A few turns later, Dovizioso too passed Zarco, sending him to the third place.

Video source – MotoGP official Facebook page

Now, it was Lorenzo leading the pack with Dovizioso and Zarco following him. Both the Ducatis took a good lead from Zarco. Dovi started closing the gap between him and Lorenzo which. It was when only four laps were remaining in the race, it was an unlucky moment for Lorenzo in the final hairpin turn of the circuit when he lost his front end but managed to not crash out. This gave Dovi a tiny window of opportunity and he utilised it passing Lorenzo. He then continued to lead the race and crossed the finish line doing a standing wheelie.

2017 MotoGP Malaysian GP Race Results

Lorenzo finished second while Zarco successfully maintained a good distance from Marc Marquez and grasped the third place. It was an amazing and very interesting race. Now, Marquez has 282 points and is still the leader of this season. Andrea Dovizioso is in second place carrying 261 points with his win here at Malaysian GP. The final race of the 2017 MotoGP season is scheduled to take place in Valencia on 12th Nov 2017. It is going to be an interesting one so don’t miss it!

Current MotoGP standings:

1. = Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) 282 points
2. = Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 261 points (-21)
3. = Maverick Viñales SPA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 226 points (-56)
4. = Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 197 points (-85)
5. = Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) 185 points (-97)
6. = Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 154 points (-128)
7. = Jorge Lorenzo SPA Ducati Team (GP17) 137 points (-145)
8. = Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 121 points (-161)
9. = Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 104 points (-178)
10. = Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 84 points (-198)
11. = Alvaro Bautista SPA Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 75 points (-207)
12. = Jack Miller AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 73 points (-209)
13. ^1 Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 64 points (-218)
14. ˅1 Aleix Espargaro SPA Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 62 points (-220)
15. = Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 60 points (-222)
16. = Pol Espargaro SPA Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 55 points (-227)
17. = Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 46 points (-236)
18. = Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 45 points (-237)
19. = Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 30 points (-252)
20. = Tito Rabat SPA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 29 points (-253)
21. = Hector Barbera SPA Reale Avintia (GP16) 27 points (-255)
22. = Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 24 points (-258)
23. = Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 18 points (-264)
24. = Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 11 points (-271)
25. = Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 5 points (-277)
26. = Katsuyuki Nakasuga JPN Yamaha Factory (YZR-M1) 4 points (-278)
27. = Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1 points (-281)